What?! No Wedding!?!

The more serious our relationship became the more outspoken his opinions on weddings became.  He wanted nothing to with them.  He is an introvert and hates speaking in front of crowds and dislikes being the center of attention.  This all makes logical sense, but my internal monologue keep repeating I am NOT getting married in a COURTHOUSE!  But being me I didn’t say anything, I mean at this point in time he hadn’t even proposed to me yet.  I like every other girl always dreamed of this big wedding, the gorgeous dress with friends and family surrounding you.

The years passed more friends and family are getting married and we go to several ceremonies and I start to see the light.  I find myself sitting through the ceremony wishing it were over and looking forward to the reception.  I talked to several brides after the fact who wished they could have enjoyed the day instead of running around making sure everything was running smoothly and finally me met someone who had eloped.  They had a wonderful day just the two of them and have never regretted not having the standard wedding and thus I was sold on the idea!

Leave a Reply

